Fresh-Faced and Fancy-Free

We all struggle with things that we don’t like about ourselves.

As a woman, I have had quite the list of insecurities. It has taken many years of rewiring my own brain to shorten that list, but it’s a constant process. One of these insecurities is going bare without make-up, and I wanted to share my experience and thought-process on it.

People all seem to have varying opinions on make-up and why women wear it.  Some claim that women wear make-up to cover up imperfections while others say that it’s to enhance their features. Some say both, but I’ve come to respect make-up as a form of art that allows a woman to enhance their features. This was something I had to learn in my early twenties as before that I had a very skewed view of why and when I should be wearing make-up.

The females in our families have great influence over how we develop. We look to them as guides when learning what it means to be a woman, and they are also who we take our cues on make-up from. Personally, I looked to my mother. She was never the type of woman to leave the house not done-up. If we were going somewhere or had company coming, she’d do her hair and put her make-up on. These were habits that I eventually developed when I started wearing make-up.

I couldn’t leave the house without make-up. I mean, you never know who you could run into, right? I also didn’t see anyone outside my immediate family without first applying make-up. I needed to look my best at all times, and I felt too bare without it. It was just how I thought I needed to be; how I should be. I didn’t think that my natural beauty was enough.

It has taken a very long time to realize that I’m beautiful without make-up. I had to realign my thought-process completely, and even now I have moments where I struggle with the idea of running around without make-up. It had long become my safety blanket to hide the insecurities I had with my face.

If you are a woman who has struggled with a deep-seated need to wear make-up, then I have an assignment for you.

Part #1

The next time that you are bare-faced, go to a mirror and really look at yourself. Instead of focusing on the things you dislike, really take in the features that you do like. Do you love the color of your eyes, the shape of your lips, your cheekbones, or those contagious dimples when you smile?  It’s time to change the way you see yourself, and that starts with positive thoughts.

I guarantee if you do this at least once a day you will begin to view yourself in a different light. You’ll care less who sees you without make-up, because who can resist those killer dimples or those lovely eyes?

tumblr_m85hy9EBTA1rp6uhvo1_500

Part #2

As you set down the path of realizing how beautiful your bare face is, I want you to consider another angle on make-up. If you are the type of woman to look at make-up as a means of cover up, it’s time to nip that in the butt.

Remember all those things you love about your fresh face? Make-up is the best way to enhance your best features.

Do you love the way your lips pout? Find the perfect shade of lipstick to make them pop even more!

How about the color of your eyes? An eye liner and eye shadow combo can really make them a showstopper!

6108016795_62b58673b0

It’s all about focusing on what you like about yourself rather than constantly berating yourself with hateful thoughts. As you do that, you can begin to view make-up as a means to enhancing beauty that’s already there. This takes that evil power away from make-up. You don’t need to wear it. You choose to wear it because it enhances you’re already gorgeous self!

cho-g1

2 responses to “Fresh-Faced and Fancy-Free

  1. Perfectly said! I’m actually the opposite. I never really made up my face as a teenager and even now. Like you said, I think part of our relationship with makeup starts with the female in our lives. My mother barely wears makeup and when she does it’s very little. Almost as if she’s wearing none at all. As my sister and I got older, my mom taught us that we don’t need makeup because we’re beautiful as we are. The only makeup she said we really need to enhance the beauty that’s already there was lipstick. As a result, both me and my sister only wear lipstick. That’s it! We’re bare faced every time we go out. I’m actually quite grateful to my mom for teaching us not to be so reliant on makeup. I’m able to be comfortable with how I look and it’s kind of like a, “This is me. Take it or leave it,” statement. I much rather think of makeup as an enhancement or something that’s not necessary to wear if you really don’t want to. Why feel pressured to hide imperfections? We all have them. We’re only as beautiful as we feel. 🙂 Great post again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, you lucky girl! 😉 Not to say that my mom was wrong or anything. In fact, she spent her younger years wearing very little make-up as I’ve seen in old pictures. I just developed this sense that I needed to always be wearing it, and slowly I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m beautiful without it. I don’t need it. I choose to wear it; how much and when. I don’t let it control me anymore.

      Regardless of how we start off, I hope every woman learns this lesson. There is beauty in every woman’s appearance!

      Thank you for the comment! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

