Geek Girl Dress Code?

As Classic Game Fest edges closer, I find myself wondering what I should wear. Most girls do this when an event of any kind comes up to varying degrees. Is it going to be the cute skirt or skinny jeans? Hair up or hair down? It’s pretty common! However, I had an epiphany as I considered what to wear.

As a geek, I am having so much more trouble deciding on what to wear. Why? Because I’m a geek who is a girl. I am weighing the pro’s and con’s of what to wear based on how the outfit will be perceived/received on a geek level higher than whether or not it looks good on me.

Shame on me!

Here are the questions I’ve asked myself and the immediate responses in my head. These are the perfect examples of what the geek society has done to a geek girl’s mind!

Option #1: Should I pick out one of my geeky shirts and wear it with jeans?

“I like this. This would be comfortable, and I can pick out my favorite shirt and wear it so that everyone can see what I’m into.”

I love my geek shirts. I wear them everywhere so it only seems natural that I should do this. However, it feels like I’m trying to find a way to validate myself to other attendee’s, the guys primarily. Will they believe that I like Mario or will they think that I’m trying too hard so it must be a lie? I’m wondering, “How do I prove that I’m a real geek?”

Option #2: Should I go girly and wear something more feminine?

“Hm, I don’t know. I wouldn’t fit in if I did that. I would look displaced or like my boyfriend just dragged me along.”

There is so much wrong with this that I don’t know where to start. I really can’t believe I even had those thoughts, but that’s what this society does to you! You are made to feel like you constantly have to validate yourself. How much knowledge do you have on <this>? How much merchandise do you have of <this>? How long have you been a fan of <this>? You get the gist!

Option #3: Should I cosplay?

“That would be so much fun! Which character should I be? Well, I better find one that isn’t too revealing. – Oh, it looks like a lot of the female characters have revealing outfits. I’m just not comfortable with that.”

I’m not saying that ALL female characters in the geek industry wear revealing outfits, but a lot of them do! Not only that, but most of their body proportions are either itty-bitty tiny or nearly impossible ultra-voluptuous with teeny waists. There are girls that fit one category and others that manage utilize tools available in order to make the other work, but most of us can’t find a happy medium when it comes cosplaying. Even if we did find that happy place, that doesn’t mean that every one of us are comfortable with nearly baring it all!

Untitled Untitled2Untitled3

This is not to say that I’m not impressed by great cosplay. I’m just not impressed with the options out there for the average female!

I will say that I am incredibly relieved that I caught myself having these thoughts and banished them. I shouldn’t have to validate myself to anyone; not only as a geek but as a geek girl!

If I want to wear a frilly pink lacy dress that doesn’t even remotely look geeky then I’m going to go right ahead! I don’t know of any rule that says a geek girl can’t be girly!

The lovely Albinwonderland is the perfect example of geeky and girly!

Everyone should be able to feel comfortable in their own skin and in their own clothes. I disdain the fact that geek society has either pushed standards onto geek girls or claimed that we don’t exist at all.

We do exist, and I’ll wear whatever the hell I want to Classic Game Fest!

cho-g1

2 responses to “Geek Girl Dress Code?

Leave a Reply

