Sense8 – A Netflix Original Series: Review

There a few new shows that I watched during my unemployment period, and Sense8 was easily the most fascinating of them all.

sense8

Sense8 is about a science fiction (woot!) drama about eight strangers from different parts of the world that suddenly become mentally and emotionally linked to each other. This is referred to them as being “reborn” as Sensates, or rather humans with more access and control over the regions of our brains that are normally dormant. This gives them the ability to sense one another emotionally and mentally; making them able to communicate telepathically, sense, and use each other’s language and overall knowledge.

sense8WillGorki

C’mon, isn’t that coolest shit ever?

I have to admit one little fact. I started and finished this series in one day. That’s right. I spent the whole day watching this show on Netflix. And it easily could’ve been because of Netflix’s nasty little habit of just starting up the next episode, but it wasn’t. I was hooked. I was so fascinated by the concept of this show.

So these eight strangers are all vastly different. It’s not just that they live on various corners of the world, but they all come from different cultures, backgrounds, and have greatly contrasting personalities. Take eight different personalities and connect them and you have one dynamic linked group.

sense8-episode-7

On top of being able to access each other’s knowledge, the characters of this story slowly but surely learn from each other and their differences.They are able to see life’s troubles and lessons from a completely different perspective through their link. Certain characters become closer than others, but in the end they all help each other in some form or fashion. Imagine having a family that was readily accessible for help mentally, emotionally, or physically no matter where they were. That’s right, people. They are able to put their consciousness into each others bodies and take control temporarily to help one another. Some of my favorite scenes are those where they “jump” bodies. Greatness.

The plot of this show dips into a lot of sensitive issues like politics, identity, religion, sexuality, gender, and religion that are either left on the back burner by most science fiction shows or not present at all. I have to give them props for that. Not only is it balls-y, but it really allows the viewer to connect with one if not more than one of the eight main characters. It makes them all incredibly relatable. They’re not perfect. They struggle with a lot of the same things that a lot us do.

Nomi2

Now you may be thinking that eight main characters is too many. How could you smoothly switch from one to another especially when they live in different parts of the world? I guess that’s where this mental link comes into play. It really does feel as though they shift from point of views rather seamlessly because they’re linked. You don’t ever feel as though one is getting more attention than the others.

I should also mention that while this show is a drama, it contains a little bit of every genre. Again, I believe we have the differences in the characters to thank for this. We have drama, action, adventure, romance, suspense, and even kung fu. It really has something for everyone!

21132594

I would definitely recommend that everyone give this show a chance. I will say that the first episode or two runs a little slow. They’re the introductory episodes, and they put more emphasis on their awakening mental capabilities. However, after that it does pick up. You get more fast paced scenes the further you get, and everything gets pretty intense toward the finale.

So go watch Sense8! Seriously. If you don’t like it, then I give you every right to come back and complain. If you do like, come back and tell me why. I’d love to hear other opinions on this show since I have yet to meet anyone who has watched it!

I realize that not everyone has an entire day to watch an entire series. Don’t be a bum like me. 😉

PS: Sense8 has some pretty graphic scenes (nudity, sex, violence, blood, hooray!) so I wouldn’t watch it with young folk around!

cho-g1

7 responses to “Sense8 – A Netflix Original Series: Review

  1. I had to skim this post because the girlfriend and I want to watch it later, but I’m glad you enjoyed it! Since I’m in San Francisco, I thought it was pretty cool that they filmed here. Other than bits and pieces of Ant-Man being filmed here, San Francisco isn’t really used for filming locations much anymore unfortunately. I think it’s because the city charges a lot of money to close areas down.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol there weren’t any spoilers, I promise. Just a general review of what the show is all about and my opinion. But yes, it’s very good. I’m disappointed that I ran through it like I did because now the wait for Season 2 will be longer.

      And yeah, it looks like they filmed all over too. I really enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Cool cool! Yeah that’s the major downside to Netflix Original Series. They put an entire season up and then you’re supposed to binge it even though they tell you not to. At the same time their seasons are like a giant feature film that can’t be watching separately. Ahhh Netflix is pretty evil when it comes to these ;P

        Liked by 1 person

      • It definitely was a giant awesome feature film. I mean, they all work separately since you follow a lot of different characters stories, but it always leaves you wanting more.

        Y’all are going to like it! You’ll have to let me know when you do and what you think! 🙂

        Like

      • I grew up with Voyager so it’s really nostalgic. I think it really aged well too. I’m forgetting most of the story since it’s been so long but I’m still really enjoying it!
        What anime did you watch?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

