Out with the Old & In with the New

I’m very happy to announce that I will be moving to Austin, TX at the end of May!

To be honest, it’s really got me thinking about fresh starts and new beginnings. I think that moving to a new city can really help you redefine your lifestyle, especially if that city’s culture is different (in a good way) than your current one. Austin is just that.

  • Austin’s general population is younger. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many people my age before!
  • It’s a very green city, and puts a lot of effort into environmental awareness, Lovely parks and lakes everywhere.
  • It has a no-kill policy which means a lot to me as an animal lover.
  • Austin is very health and fitness oriented. It is very rare to see an out of shape Austinite.
  • It’s culturally diverse and rich with people from all over the world living there and influencing it.
  • Live Music Capital of the United States. Need I say more? The arts are strong there!

The list could go on and on, but those are the main reasons I am attracted to it. I’m an animal, nature, and arts loving person who wants to bring more fitness into her life. Was this city made for me?

To be fair, I won’t actually be living IN Austin, but just north of it in the Pflugerville, TX or Round Rock, TX areas. My boyfriend likes to point out that they are their own cities, but I feel as though the three cities bleed right into each other. This is especially true when its comes to the general lifestyle. Not to mention they’re only like 20 minutes apart. I mean, I can drive the highway for 20 minutes in San Antonio and still be in San Antonio. C’mon now!

I digress.

On the more geeky spectrum of things, I am just itching to explore the geek culture in Austin. A lot of people will yell, “Hipsters!” when they talk about Austin, but I have this feeling that I will feel more at home among a bigger geek society there. I know for sure that it hosts more geek conventions than San Antonio. That’s always a positive sign, right?

Of course, as I explore and discover the geek culture in Austin, I will be letting you all know how it is! Although I’m sure I will be posting before July, there is a particular event I am so damn excited to go to.

That is..

dc999cddd24dcf9373f0ec1c10c4a309_400x400

Did your eyes just bug out as big as mine did when I discovered this? Yeah, I’m sure they did.

Being that I haven’t bought into the current newer consoles of the last few years, I set my sights to the past. You just can’t go wrong with the classics. In fact, I miss them! Video games are evolving in a way that I’m not particularly fond of. Well, minus MMORPG’s which I almost always love. FFXIV: ARR specifically. ❤

I will be attending this amaze-balls Classic Game Fest, and I will be overloading my phone with tons of pictures to show everyone. Luckily it will be at the end of our first month in Austin and I’ll let it dangle in front of my eyes like a treat the next two months to help push me through what I’m sure will be a stressful transition.

So let me ask everyone something even though it’s not January and we didn’t just celebrate New Years. What changes are you bringing into your life for the positive? Anything big? Not so big? Hey, nothing’s better than baby-steps actually.

Let me know!

cho-g1

One response to “Out with the Old & In with the New

Leave a Reply

